Chilling With The Robots

The Car

The Car (1977) Rewatch: ❎

I spent far too much of The Car wondering what you’d have to do in order to make it today and the horrible thought of a rogue Cybertruck, possessed by demons, got stuck in my head and now I hate everything. Mainly because I couldn’t work out how anyone would ever be able to tell the difference between that and a normal, sheddy, Cybertruck. Maybe the possessed one has less chance of bursting into flames? I dunno.

Anyway. The Car. It’s alright, like. As ghostly car murder films go, it’s absolutely no Christine but on the other end of the scale, it’s no The Hearse either. It’s eminently watchable, has a couple of neat tricks up its sleeve (monster vision … but it’s a car’s eye view) and sure, sure, it’s not the most exciting film ever made but I kinda did enjoy the showdowns between the car and the humans it was frequently trying to off.

The most disappointing thing for me was that when it came to a scene where a marching band encounters the car, it didn’t barrel into the lot of them throwing the band everywhere like skittles. Being the seventies, it was never going to happen but one can dream.

Oh, oh, oh, loved the car careering through someone’s window at high speed too. That got me.

It does kinda drift close to TV movie at times but my days of caring about that are long behind me. These days I have a soft spot for that sort of tat so an approximate is fine by me too.

Fun enough stuff and it does have people asking how a car could know where someone lived and it’s not every day you get that in a film, is it?