Chilling With The Robots

Madmen Of Mandoras

Madmen Of Mandoras (1961) Rewatch? ❎

I suppose technically I have seen this before as it was re-edited and made somehow worse to make up They Saved Hitler’s Brain but this was the first time I’ve seen the untouched up version.

It is better too. You might well argue that’s a low bar to clear and you’d be right but shorn of all the additional fluff, it’s less of a mess. It’s still a big, silly, mess - I don’t think we can really ever escape that - but it stays on target.

If you’ve never seen either, let me just tell you that this is a film where “Mr H” (Hitler) has his head and brain preserved and popped into a machine to preserve him forever and gives orders out from a secret base on a island somewhere. Briefly. There’s more time given over to some nazis driving around with Mr H in the passenger seat of a car if I’m being honest. Sorry. The head of Mr H in the passenger seat of a car.

Yep, they’re driving round with the head of Adolf fucking Hitler in a jar in a car. Brilliant!

I don’t know what to tell you, really. That’s more than enough reason for me to watch it and I had a great time with it. Even though I knew what to expect because of the more famous edit, that didn’t impact my enjoyment in the slightest and the face melting scene is still up there with Raiders Of The Lost Ark in the great face melting stakes.