Chilling With The Robots

Foes

Foes (1977) Rewatch: ❎

I’m not counting this as a rewatch as the last time I sat down to watch Foes it was the nineties and I was incredibly, incredibly wrecked. So, I only have the vaguest of vague memories of it, it’s as good as new to me at this point.

Anyway! I loved this. Really, really low budget stuff starting from the premise of a lighthouse keeper being harassed by a flying saucer. There’s no fucking around, it gets straight to a collision between a plane and the saucer right at the film’s opening and then … then the saucer is just there, hanging in the sky and that’s probably not a good sign for anything, really. From there on, it’s a whole lot of joining the lighthouse keeper in wondering what is going on and why, all slow and atmospheric like.

Yes, the acting is generally pretty ropey but the lo fi UFO on tape vibes are exquisite, the bleakness of the island, the crashing waves, glorious slitscan work and drone soundtrack all stack up for an eerie and haunting big mood film. I opted for the directors cut on this to avoid any shouty mens ruining the atmosphere and I’m glad I did. It’s a quiet, unsettling, corker of a film that I won’t be forgetting in a hurry.